Recipe for Failure

• I started my first BFL challenge four years ago. I achieved results that surprised everyone myself included. During my second challenge which ended in November 2011, I saw great results in week 10 onwards. Yet, I am here now for the third time right where I first started when it comes to weight and body shape.

I looked in my BFL diary book and saw that my strength improved greatly but I gained back all the weight/dress sizes I lost. I had to start thinking why I am always finding myself at that place where I have to start all over again when it comes to diets and BFL. I have been dieting for the past 15 years. Every time it is the same story. Then I found out why. I decided to share it as it might be helpful to anyone out there like me.

I failed to maintain my weight loss and new shape because of two reasons: First, even though I became of average weight and everyone complimented me on it, I still did not really actually see or feel anything inside me except that I am still fat. I bought new clothes in my new size, and I KNEW I was smaller, yet every time I looked in the mirror I only saw my old fat self. Something inside me made me unable to believe that I am no longer obese. It just did not register. In my heart I mocked the changes. I only saw the faults and did not think of those faults as a linking bridge for the next phase.

The second reason is that I did not think of any diet, eating plan or even BFL as a new way of life that should stay with me for the rest of my life if I wanted to keep my good shape. I was counting the days of BFL, the meals, the mistakes, and marking the date it will all end for me to "be that shape and complete the challenge and let my new life begin". But to complete something is see it coming to an "end". Once it ended, slowly but surely I went back into my old ways.