The Dreaded Scale!

• Hi everyone,

I have been fighting for a normal weight most of my life, and have tried different approaches over the years.  I am new to BFL, but not to the fickled bathroom scale!  Many of the forum entries express frustration with the scale, so I thought I would try to help.

Bathroom scales provide relative weight.  Doctors' scales are very accurate as they use weights, not springs or other unreliable devices, to measure weight.  The ones we typically buy in the store vary depending upon the weather, humidity, where they are on the floor, how you step on the scale and probably other factors.  Just for fun, get on the scale, step off, step back on.  The two weights are probably different (perhaps because a spring inside is stretched a little from the first time you stepped up to the plate!

Your weight can also vary from hour to hour depending upon the temperature, humidity, what you consumed, how much water you are retaining, and more.  So checking a scale - even an accurate one - often doesn't tell you how much real weight/fat you have lost.  Over the course of weeks, an accurate scale like the ones in doctors' offices and gyms will provide you with a pattern of weight loss, gain or maintenance.

As many BFLers have mentioned on the forum, your clothing is a better yardstick for weight loss, especially something you could barely fit in at the beginning of the program.  So is a visual assessment soooo ...

Let the mirror be your best friend!  And stick with the program.  It is good for your health regardless of how much or how little you lose.

Cheers,

Mary

• Mary, thank you for that information. I love your suggestion, "let the mirror be your best friend". I am also having a hard time with the scale, the one in my home. Although I have lost inches...I'm not liking what the scale has to say. Taking into consideration all the factors you list, I have a whole new outlook on my "not so friendly" scale!