Travel and BFL

• Hi!

I have started this program and I have pretty good initial sucess.  Invariably I end having a hard time with the food and meals.  My biggest problem is that I am a pilot who is often flying international on odd schedules and finding myself in strange foriegn lands with strange (and delicious) foods.  

Working out is not a problem, most hotels have an aceptable gym, I carry bands and do P90EX workouts when there is nothing. 

Does anyone have an odd scheule like this and have any pointers about travel and eating out at resturants every meal? 

Thanks,

• I don't travel constantly as you do, but still, fairly frequently.  I just returned from Ethiopia where I stayed for 2 weeks, almost completely dependent on eating out. Now, I was able to go shopping for SOME fruits and veg so that was great, but menu "decoding" was tough. The main restaurants available were Ethiopian and Italian food. First, I had to get good at asking the front desk at the hotel to help me translate what I wanted-because I frequently had to ask for things cooked in special ways (no oil, etc).  Second, I would order a clear broth soup to start (so many good choices at Italian restaurants for this), then I just looked for the leanest meat on the menu.  Now, I didn't go for fish in Ethiopia-its landlocked and I was SO NOT risking it-but that would always be my first choice on a take out menu as its usually poached, baked etc.  I was surprised to find that the "clean" foods were often the tastiest dishes. I found that if I gave in to pasta Alfredo I reallllly felt sick afterwards.  The final thing I did that kept me successful while traveling was to take some protein bar/meal replacements with me.  I really like the Myoplex Lite bars.  I hope this is of some help!  I know that it can be challenging but I am sure you will conquer it!