WHAT HAPPENS TO PROTEIN IF WE DON'T USE IT? WHERE DOES IT GO??

• Ok, can you eat too much Protein?

I read somewhere that the body can only absorb 30g in any one sitting. We all know where carbs get stored if we eat too many, what about protein? Does excess amounts store as fat?

• Great question! I am not an expert but I think your body cannot store extra protein. If you don't need all of the protein you have eaten, (we need to define how much is to much) it is broken down into ammonia and organic acids, which are used for energy. Any excess is stored as fat.

Does anyone else have thoughts on this?

• Hey Lori, I can always rely on you to be right back with a good balanced answer. Sounds about right. I'm sticking to 30g per meal but a friend of mine chucks down 3 Labrada shakes a day that has 60 grams of Protein per shake. I thought that was pretty hardcore and i said to him I thought if he ate too much Protein it would store as fat unless he was using the energy in serious weight training which he isn't???

PS HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

I'm sure looking as awesome as you do is the best birthday present anyone could ever give you!!

Have a great day!! X

• You can get kidney problems from too much protein

Live life with passion!

• Hello my friend, Thank you for the Birthday message. It sure feels good to be the big "40"!!!

• Is too much protein a bad thing???????

• Hasam,

I would like to point out why protein is essential on many fronts. Protein is necessary to our bodies' normal functions. It assists in synthesizing hormones, maintaining fluid balance, and regulating such vital functions as building antibodies against infection, and blood clotting.Protein is also a building block for our muscles, bones, cartilage, skin, hair, and blood.