BFL after Open Heart Surgery

• Hello All,

I've done BFL off and on during the last 11 years with sometimes great results, and sometimes I didn't finish due to injuries/illness. I've been challenged in the past 10 years, having undergone 5 surgeries and having a child! The most recent surgery was major open heart surgery in March of 2010. To make a long story short, I underwent emergency surgery at the hospital I work at (I'm an ICU nurse) for an extremely rare coronary artery anomaly. I was told by my surgeons that I shouldn't have made it to 40 as I played competitive sports in college, did triathlons, and had a child. My type of anomaly often causes sudden cardiac death in athletes,

So, needless to say, it's a miracle I'm still here! Since my surgery I have been exercising regularly with the focus being on cardio. I have improved my stress test results from May (8 weeks postop) where I only was able to do 5.2 METS to last week when I was able to do 12 METS. The cardiologist said I did excellent and they allowed my HR to get to 100% of maximum for my age.

I am working on tweaking my diet which is why I'm going back to the BFL program...my physician wants me to cut my sugar intake and follow a lower carb diet. As far as the workouts, I need to get back in the weight room but my main focus is still going to be on cardio, I carry a lot of muscle mass for a woman and I just need to tone up more than anything. I am starting a local Fit Camp at my old community college Monday and it's a killer workout that combines both cardio and strength training so I'll do that 3 days/week and get to the gym the other 3 days for cardio/strength training.