Enough protein????

• OK - ya'll may be able to tell that I have just discovered this forum today! I am LOVING reading everyone's input because it lets me know that I am right on track and I am NOT ALONE in this!

I have a SERIOUS question, though...

I talked with the kind folks on the toll-free help line about how to know if I am eating enough or too much... I was told that a person needs .8gm of protein for every pound of body weight... For me, that is ALOT of protien! I am seriously concerned that in an effort to get enough protein, I am going to be getting TOO MANY calories! ESPECIALLY if I have to pair a carb with it!

Can anyone give me suggestions for how to get enough protein without too many calories? I know about protein powder and obvioulsy lean meats and eggs and cheese. Any ideas in addition to these?

I look forward to this "journey" with you guys!

Today is the day to NOT quit!!!! <3 EARGAL

• I am a newbie, so I don't claim to be an expert...BUT

I am starting at 150# multiplied by .8 would be 120 grams of protein a day for me.  Divided by my 6 meals is only 20 grams per meal.  That's not too hard to do.  I am a vegetarian, so getting quality protein is especially hard for me.  But low fat cottage cheese is a great alternative to other meats and cheeses.  I hope this helps a bit.

• Supposedly whey protein is the best bang for your buck, most protein with the least calories. I too am vegetarian, and have upped my whey protein, because I don't think I get as much protein with the other stuff, have to eat alot of eggs or cottage cheese to get to the 20g protein

• Eargal,

Just a couple thoughts that you might find helpful.