Weight classes?

• Hi, I'm new to BFL and getting ready to start my first challenge. I already work out regularly including weight classes at the gym. I'm wondering how important it is to do the 46 minutes of weight training?  I do Body Pump classes, increasing my weights as often as I can and feel appropriately challenged by them (sweating profusely, struggling for the last reps, regularly sore). I feel like I have a good habit formed with good support at these group classes and would rather not change that. Has anyone else successfully used group weight classes during BFL challenges?

Thanks!

• I could be wrong here, but I'm pretty sure the 46 minute guideline is because that's about the amount of intense training it takes before your body starts producing cortisol (a catabolic hormone), although I'm sure it varies slightly person to person. Also this is not including warmups.

I'm sure your body pump classes were intelligently designed, so as long as they keep producing results I say if it isn't broken don't fix it.

• BFL is designed very specifically for a reason. Have you read the original BFL book by Bill Phillips? He explains why he designed the program like he did....with 3 very specific strength trainings per week (alternating between lower body and upper body) and 3 cardio HIITs per week, along with a very specific nutrition plan. The BFL plan is designed to get results.