Serious Weight Lifters Only - Need Your Advice

• I've been doing this program for 27 months, and became extremely ripped and lean. I would like to increase my strength, particularly bench press, to do my full weight.  However, I notice soreness in several UB joints at this point.  I can do flys and chest presses with a 55 lb. dumbell in each hand, but my shoulders and elbows are sore a lot.  Any advice on how to proceed?  I still do my cardio 3-4X a week as well.  Is there a site that would be better for me at this point?  Fat is no longer an issue, as I'm under 11% BFP, and burned all the excess blubber off.

Any advice from experienced weight lifters appreciated,

Jacium

Once I discovered the joys of weight training, all other passions were transcended.

Jacium

• Jacium,

I am in a similar position. Right now I am reading Arnold Schwarzenegger's encyclopedia of bodybuilding (the updated one not the one form the 80s). At 800 pages it contains a lot of information. It is not as organized as the bfl book by any stretch but I am finding it very helpful. I love BFL but I really think for those of us who get to a low BF% and are ready to build muscle we need to move on a bit. There are a lot of muscles we don't get the time to work out in the bfl style. The Arnold book is extremly similar to bfl (I am sure bill phillips read it before he started bfl) but reccomends doing more sets and exercises for each muscle group. Of course to do this you need to split your work outs. There are many variations on splitting workouts. I am looking at doing something like chest and back one day, shoulders and arms the next and legs  the next or something like that. I am still doing some research and experimenting in the gym. Inciently Arnold reccomends cardio 3 - 5 times a week and does abs every day. Anyway I am loving this book as it is so similare to BFL but takes it up a notch. I purchesed my copy used from abebooks.com for about $20.00 with shipping. It was worth every cent.