Alternatives for dumbbell exercises over the head?

• I am new to BFL.  I just finished reading the book and am going for it!  Previously, I've been working out and watching what I eat without much success.  I have the drive, I just don't think I'm putting it together correctly.  I hope BFL is the answer.

Today was my first work out, my upper body feels like rubber.   But I don't think I like the workouts that involve pushing the dumbbells over my head.  In short, my last two sets of dumbbell presses were pretty shaky.  Concentrating very hard to maintain form.   I was very worried about dropping a dumbbell  on myself.

The book seemed to want to steer away from the machines in the gym but since I work out alone, I'm really not comfortable with the exercises that have me pushing the dumbbells over my head.  That and getting into the starting position with 100lbs of dumbbell was not easy either.

Are there alternatives for these exercises?

Any advice would be terrific.  As I continue, I'm hoping to tune my workout to provide the most success.

• First off welcome!

I personally feel dumbbells and free weights are the way to go. In the situation you described above...I would just lower to a more manageable weight to start and THEN increase as you get stronger...and you WILL. For the set when you have only the 6 reps, there you can really test your limits because it is only 6 reps.

Alternatively, when you are doing that real heavy set, just ask someone in the gym for a spot...people are usually glad to help... I've done it for people before. Just to be there for that little push and for reassurance you won't drop the dumbbells on your head :)

• Hey Steve,