Any suggestions on what DUMBELLS to buy?

• Hi!  This is my first time starting this challenge, and am just now realizing I need more weights than I have at home.  And, I don't feel comfortable working out with the men at the gym just yet.

I think I should buy adjustable dumbells for women???  Or, should I just buy an adjustable dumbell set that goes up to 50lbs?  I am open to any suggestions.  I need to buy them like yesterday.

Thanks,

Ruth

• Hi Ruth,

I have a set of BowFlex adjustable dumbells that go to 50lbs.  I like them for my upper body workouts when I can't or don't feel like going to the gym.  They are a great set, easy to adjust, and take up far less space than individual dumbells, of course.  I also like that the weight plates are round, and the bar between the plates (the handle) does not have anything around it that limits range of motion.  I tried to use an adjustable set one time that had square-shaped dumbells.  They felt so awkward and limited the motion of my arm because the hangle was surrounded by the bars that formed the side of the whole dumbbell.  (That probably makes no sense at all the way I've described it, but if you've seen the square ones maybe you understand what I mean.)

One other factor to consider when purchasing the weights is what you intend to use them for.  In hindsight, if BowFlex offered a set that goes to higher weights (I don't remember if they do or not) I would choose that one.  I've found that the set I have (as it's limited to 50lbs...or 52lbs) is not as useful for lower body lifts.....like weighted squats and deadlifts....because those muscles develop quickly, and I found I needed higher weights to continue to progress with those lifts.