CRAP....diet soda

• ok I was totally not thinking and had a diet soda at dinner, lik half a cup. I know the harm  but wasn't even thinking about it til I started on the forums tonight. Should I skip my cheat day for that soda??? I really was looking forward to something sweet on my cheat day, maybe a cupcake. What should I do? I'm at the end of week one so I am still learning.

• Unless you really want to give up your free day, just take it as a lesson and move on and take your free day, or maybe just do a free meal and eat clean the rest of the day. Like you said, you're just starting out. And I think ALL of us have had a lapse. On Week 3 of my first Challenge, I had a chicken salad at a Cuban place and the owner presented me with the "gift" of a free flan, which my husband couldn't eat due to an allergy, so I ate the entire thing because, well, free flan. And ate clean the rest of the week. And still took my free day though with more moderation. And wasn't worse for wear as a result.

Good luck with the rest of your Challenge!

• How is a diet soda going to break your progress? It's diet. Yes, it has aspartame, etc. in it, but it's not going to kill your progress. I'm a Pepsi addict and a Coke Zero or Diet Dr. Pepper now and then is my saving grace.

Don't sweat the small stuff and don't start over! It's getting hung up on these little "slip ups" that keep us in the bad cycle. Now, if you had eaten half a pizza or half a pan of brownies that would be another story. :)

Stay focused and looking forward. Best of luck!

• Pop is loaded with sugar. If you're making the switch to diet soda, good on you! I love the taste of Pepsi, and the occasional drink of diet won't rock the boat. You are making positive changes, and changing from regular to diet is great, just don't drink a lot of it.