Stages of body transformation?

• I'm just 3 weeks into my 1st run here.  I started doing some cardio classes before I began BFL therefore I've been exercising for about 2 months.

I'm noticing my legs are getting stronger and firmer.  I've also noticed some of the fat on my back just above my butt is starting to go away.  Everything seems to be slowing shrinking and getting stronger.... except my belly.  In fact, it feels as though my belly is sticking out just a bit more than before.  Does this sound like a normal part of the body transforming?  I appreciate any input you might have.

• Yes, it sounds a lot like my first challenge. The stomach just seems to take forever, it really is around week eight where you will see the all the change really happening. Hang in there!....Melissa

Melissa

2012 Body-for-LIFE Champion, Women 18-29

• Hi!

My belly took the longest to go away too, so don't stress over it.  I am sure your belly isn't really "sticking out just a bit more than before" so much as the rest of you is shrinking and making it appear that way.  If you are getting firmer and stronger, just keep doing what you are doing.  Just remember to adjust your caloric intake as needed or you will gain "skinny fat" if you are not getting enough calories.

:)  Kerry
    2012 Body-for-Life Champion, Women's 30-45

• Seems to be a common thing, for both guys and gals. My first challenge, I dropped nearly 30 lbs of fat and added about 13 lbs of lean, but I couldn't see any real difference in my belly size. However, I had been taking regular measurements, and they showed my belly had shrunk by nearly six and a half inches in that time. I'll bet if you started taking measurements you'd be able to see some progress.

• Try cutting out white flour,sugar, and white pasta...sometimes eating a more whole food diet gets the belly to shrink a little faster....

• @xanaduyas,

What is "skinny fat"?