OH BOY STARTING FOR THE SECOND TIME 04/08/2013

• Hi! I started yesterday and thought I'd jump in this group! It's my first time doing the BFL thing, and I look forward to learning from the seasoned veterans :-)

• Hi! I am planning to give the BFL a 2nd try and will be joining either today or tomorrow. . . so I'll hang with everyone here. I was off to a great start in my first challenge (January 13) but a slip/fall on ice in February was a great setback.  I tore my right long bicep (turned black & blue) and an MRI showed other rotator tendon damage and bone degeneration in my right shoulder from years and years of overdoing it in various physical activities (I'll be 61 in June). The upper head of my humerous was also jammed upward into the socket so my entire shoulder is somewhat misaligned. I stopped all upper body weight training but have continued with aerobics and some leg work.

With an ortho evaluation concluding with the possibility of a reverse joint implant (NO WAY THANK YOU!!!), I've been making good progress through PT and my home exercises.  So, I decided to enter the challenge again focusing on what is working. I don't expect spectacular upper body results as in the past (going from using 45 lb dumbells to 1 lb dumbells in the curl) but I can focus more on my abs and legs.

So count me in. . . TMinus 60. . . and counting. -paul

• 3 times a week, 20 minutes cardio is all I do.  I'm a firm believer in that you lose as much, if not more on weight days than on cardio days, and if you do too much cardio, you may be losing muscle rather than fat, which would give you a "runner's body" rather than what I want.  Plus, I am not a big fan of cardio (find it BORING), so unless I know it's going to benefit me, I'm not going to do more than the 20 minute high-intensity. :)