want to lose weight (fat) and gain muscle tone...questions

• Hi all

I am just getting started and have a question. If I want to lose body fat, but also gain muscle, should I increase my cardio AND resistance training? Or do they cancel each other out? Would I lose fat faster by doing more cardio? I just started the challenge, but have been going to the gym for 3 months now. I notice my body is stronger, (I can lift and move heavier things and I have much more energy) but I have not lost any weight and my body does not look different. I am eating less fat, less carbs, and more vegetables. I am also drinking LOTS of water to keep me full because I feel like I am so hungry, especially after a workout. I am going to the gym 4-5 days a week. I figured I would start the challenge (recommended by a co-worker) to help me. Thanks!

• Hey, I'm in week four of my first challenge.  I've asked the same questions and have done a pretty fair amount of research on this very topic.  Everyone (and everything I have read) says "stick with the program as it is written."  I am not going to tweak anything, but stick with it and give it 100%.  Check out the one page post/blog here... www.hussmanfitness.org/.../TPBodyforLife.html        this may shed some light on the topic for you.  Good luck and keep cruising these posts for similar questions and responses.  Stick with the program as it was intended.

Go, Becca, Go!  Tri Tri Again!  www.tinyurl.com/rebecca2013  

• wow thanks! Very informative! I think I need to add more protein to my diet.  I eat very little meat but I do munch on nuts and beans a lot. (good fat or bad fat?) I do like Turkey though. Thank again!