Numbers - Confused

• My wife and I just started the BFL challenge today.  We are off to a good start (it's only been a few hours so I would hope we have't failed) but I have some questions.  I'm pretty active (cycling and triathlons) so I have been eating somewhat healthy for a while (not completely) and my weight has been pretty consistent.  I'm looking to lean out though and put on a bit of muscle, so lean and tone is my goal.  My wife's is probably about the same but with a little more fat loss and not wanting as much definition as I want.

Anyway, here's our problem.  1) she's used to the typical starvation diet mindset of watching calories and carbs.  2) I'm an engineer so I am VERY numbers driven.  I get the 1 portion of protein and one of carbs in each meal but I don't know sort of numbers to shoot for.

So I guess we are both a bit numbers driven.  I tell her this isn't a diet so much as it is a healthy living plan with exercise to lose weight, but I'd still like to have a general idea how much protein and carbs and how to figure out where we should both be hitting on daily calorie intake.  I've always struggled putting on lean mass by not fueling properly.

Thanks in advance.

Dave

• The best way to figure that out is to take your weight and divide it by 6. Eat that many grams of protein and carbs in each meal. Your calories should work out to approx your weight times 10.

Good luck on your journey,

Melissa