Anyone else with a July 30th start?

• Hi there,

I have created a support group on Facebook called Body for Lifers!

I have just started the Body For Life program (8/15/12) and know I need an easily accessible support group. I would really like to have a forum where questions can be answered, encouragement given, progress celebrated and ideas generated. I know that over the next 12 weeks it will be easy to get stuck in a rut either with eating or training and having a group of fellow Body for Lifers will be invaluable!

Come join us!

Laura

• @patch- First of all, congrats on giving it your all and hanging in there. Believe me it'll pay off if you try had and believe that its going to work. Never doubt the power of the mind so visualize the results you want, every single day.

In terms of the supplements I think many of them work. I was a research scientist before going into business and I've read the scientific literature regarding supplements like creatine, L-Glutamine, and caffeine.

I have tried these supplements and I can personally vouch for the fact that they worked for me.  Creatine in particular made my bench press go up dramatically.  I think they work for a number of reasons:

1. There is a pharmacological effect but its not as big as some would suggest so be careful about some of the hype

2. Some of the products that have amino acids (like L-Glu, and L-Arg) help because in general I don't believe many people are getting enough protein. To build lean muscle you need to have around 1g of protein for every pound of body weight (yes that much). So even a little bit more helps

3. I think there is a mental aspect as well and the more routine you put around to working out the more enthusiastic you are to do it.