What if you can't get 12 reps at a high point??

• Hi, I'm a sort-of beginner in weight training.  I've been doing weight-training off and on for a number of years, but I've heard about the B-f-L plan, and wanted to give it a try. What I'm confused about is this: what if I can't lift exactly the amount of reps for any number of the sets?  Like what if I can only lift 10 for the high point sets? Does that mean I should increase the weight until I can lift 12 reps and no more?

Also, what is a good measure for a level "5" intensity. What about a level "9"?  Is there some way to calculate it from a 10 rep max?  Any help is appreciated!

• you should read the book it explains this all

• thanks for that.  i actually did read the book.  twice. it only describes what a 4 and below, and then a 10. Also, there's only one line about overshooting your weight.  should the weight be chosen so you can get exactly the number of reps in, no more no less, at that intensity?  or is there wiggle room

• If you've worked with weights before I'm betting you have a good idea of what your max is..I would aim for 10-15 lbs less than that for your 9 and half of your 9 weight as your 5.  

For instance...I used to be able to dumbbell press 75-80 lbs but it's been a while so I decided that my 9 would be 60 lbs..  I made 35lbs my level 5 or warmup  here is a break down of my chest workout

12 reps-35lbs

10 reps-40lbs

8 reps-50lbs

6 reps-55lbs

12-60lbs

flies 12 reps-20lbs

As for failing..I have a few times on my 9.  Would get 10 or so reps in.  If i'm at the point that I feel even if there was a gun at my head and I still can't push the weight up, I'm feeling like I worked the muscles to the best of my ability.  I would rather come up a tad short than finish feeling under worked.