Eating or working out first?

• @ jr1964:

I am in the same boat as you. I am not a dev, but I am a software test engineer, so I also sit in front of a computer most of the day.

I turn 30 in July (one week after my first 12 wk challenge ends), and I am in the middle of week three. I have more energy, and I have lost about 6 pounds. I enjoy my job, but I know sitting all day at work isn't too good. That is one of the reasons why I started BFL.

I read about if you weight train, your muscles will burn fat, etc., while sitting/resting. Have you noticed a difference with your workouts and sitting at a computer all day? I am only one week behind you, but I am still curious.

• wryun,

I honestly can't say about burning fat while sitting/resting, but I read the same. I did feel better and with more energy at first but I've felt kind of tired lately. I was checking the forums and I think my diet is low in carbs so I'm going to change a little bit there and see how it goes.

I'm training on a Bowflex and I'm not sure I did the exercises correctly at first. It wasn't until the second week that I started noticing which muscles  I was exercising and making sure I did the routine correctly. I feel the first and a half weeks were learning curve and didn't get what I was supposed to get from the weights.  I'll let you know if I feel any changes in the next couple of weeks.

I should've trained a couple of weeks before starting the challenge just to get the hang of things but, once I started, I rather finish and then do another than interrupt this one and begin from scratch. It's silly, but I feel like cheating if I do so.

I've lost about 12#s so far. Very quickly the first two weeks but now is slowing down. I've noticed gradual increase in cardio resistance, not as much in weights.