Cardio later in the day?

• I'm new to the program and have found that I lack the energy before breakfast in the morning to hit a good high point in the cardio workouts.  Is it better to keep trying in the morning or is it OK to move the workouts to the evening and try for a better high point?

• It's OK to do cardio in the evening...however, I would recommend not eating 2-3 hours before and 1 hour after.    It seems to be working for me.  

• reddog,

I think a lot of it depends on your goals. If your main goal is fat loss then doing it in the morning in a fasted state is the best time for fat loss. At that point your glycogen levels are totally depleted and the body digs directly into your fat stores for the energy needed to complete the exercise. Eating food before running to run further or faster sort of defeats the purpose because you are buring the energy from the food you ate and not buring fat. Does that make sense? Just my take on it. But like highplainsdrifter said if first thing in the morning isnt possible waiting 3 hourse after eating is the next best thing.

Orrin

• Reddog,

The debate rages on over cardio in the am in a fasted state.  I have read dozens of articles from professional bodybuilders who either agree or disagree, very passionately I might add, that it is the best time to do it.  Opinion is definitely divided on this one, so you are right to canvass it and figure out what is best for YOU.

I personally don't agree with HIIT in a fasted state because it makes ME feel like hell within the first 5 minutes.  I have more energy, perform stronger and feel more energetic in the pm.  I make sure I have a meal maybe 2 hours before, and don't wait an hour before I eat again.  It works great for ME and I am exceeding my goals in regards to dropping my BF%.  I'm emphasizing that ME because everyone is different.  For Orrin and Highplainsdrifter, doing it in the am in a fasted state is best for THEM and is giving them great results.