Breakfast Before Early A.M. Lifting?

• Hello All,

I am rediscovering BFL after using it to lose considerable weight about 10 years ago.

I have just started working out and eating clean but I have a question - I lift weights early in the morning, about 8 am.  Should I eat breakfast before I leave the house?  I walk to the gym and it takes about a half hour (a good warmup).  Or should I wait until after and have a protein shake for breakfast around 9am?

The problem with not eating before lifting is running out of energy and being unable to have an intense a workout as I should.

Can anyone shed some light on the situation?

• Hi!

I am new to BFL, but not to nutrition and strength training. Yes, absolutely, have a light breakfast before training. Your body needs fuel. Compare it to your car. Woyld you embark on a long trip with the tank on "E"?

Best of luck, Karen

• JLucien,

Welcome back to BFL!

The issue of eating before working out is somewhat of a personal choice and can also, in my opinion, depend on your goals. In the BFL book, Bill Phillips gets up, has a glass of water and works out. I, like you, dont work out until 8am. However, I am up by 5am. On weight training days I have my first meal by 5:30 and my workout is at 8am. I eat my 2nd meal right after my workout. I dont eat at 5:30 on cardio days. Instead my first meal is an hour after cardio. This has worked well for me.

I would suggest trying it both ways (eating before and not eating before) and see how you feel. If I eat too close to my workouts I feel really sick. Others feel sick if they dont eat. The important thing is to listen to your body.

I hope this helps

Orrin

• I follow Bill, wake up, drink 16 ounce water, do work out, then shower get dress and then I make breakfast... like Orrin said, personal choice...

• IMHO it's more related to your fat loss goals.