New Year - New Outlook - Start Jan. 3rd :)

• Ok guys, I need support.  Today was a snow day (I'm a teacher so I LOVE snow days) but I'm struggling with cravings.  I ate 10 dark chocolate covered pomegranates today :(.   and I want to eat more.  What do you guys do to fight these?  

Sherrie

• Sherrie:

I'm a teacher as well and it looks like our snow day will be tomorrow (keeping  my fingers crossed)!

I understand the cravings.  Mine is chocolate.  If I know it's just a craving and not because I'm actually hungry, I try to drink water because I know if I start eating it will be very difficult to stop.  I'll also try to do something else (read my BFL journal or one of the other health books I have, do some type of physical activity, etc...): ANYTHING to get my mind off the craving.  Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't, but I find the more I am able to NOT give in, the easier it becomes (even ignored a plate of cookies at our meeting after school yesterday).  

Enjoy your day!

Heather O.

• Thanks Heather:

Good luck on your snow day!  Although i 'fell off the wagon' yesterday, I'm ready to climb back on today.  Doesn't seem like the cravings are as bad, although I'm still at home today.  Now all I have to do is exercise and i'll be good.

Thanks,

Sherrie

• I also chose to "reinvent" myself on the 3rd of Jan.  I have an extremely tough time at work..I have a desk job and just want to "graze" throughout the day from sheer boredom..I drink water..get up and walk..do all sorts of things. Cravings are subsiding a bit..but find myself eating oranges..berries..apples throughout the day... I am hoping that things will get easier as each day passes...changing 50 yrs of "bad" habits is tough...but I KNOW THIS (I) AM WORTH IT.....Stay strong everyone!!!

• I am with you!

• Just come back from a work dinner at an Indian restaurant. Absolute Hell. My favourite food spread out in huge quantities and there I am picking at it and nursing a single beer all evening. :-(